Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Where we are

I went to the doctor this afternoon for my 38 week check-up, (I'm currently 38 and a half). I didn't think that I was going to get checked for dilation and effacement; I have been going for weekly visits for the past 3 weeks and they never check me when I ask, instead the doctors say that it is too early since it is my first pregnancy. Today they asked me about contractions, and no I didn't think that I had been having any, so I thought that they were going to pass me over again, but I guess since I was full term they would go ahead and check me. Turns out I am 2 cm dilated and 70% effaced, so yay! I know that it means that I could still go past my due date before T.K. is here, but I am being optimistic that he's coming earlier than that. I can't wait to meet him and see what he looks like. I'm pretty sure he's just going to be a little clone of Ivan, but maybe he'll have a little of me in him.
As excited as I am about having him here soon, I am kind of hoping that he takes just a little more time while I finish up some projects. Tomorrow I have a BIG grocery list that I need to shop for. I have written out a menu for the first half of the month and I want to buy all the supplies for that. There's the menu stuff and then I am also buying groceries to make a ton of cassaroles or one pot meals, my plan is to get home from the store tomorrow and cook them and freeze them. Those are for after the baby is born and neither Ivan nor myself will want to cook. Until the kid is here we are going to try to stick to the menu for the meals, my mom is going to be visiting for a little while to help out with the baby so I know that she's going to be helping to cook stuff too. I just don't want to come home from the hospital and eat fast food for the next 2 months. So there's that food stuff and then there's these workshops that I have been going to on base for spouses and new parents. They aren't really that exciting, but they get me out of the house and meeting people and I look forward to them. I have one coming up that I would like to go to. Then we were planning on going to the movie theater this Friday to see baby momma. I know that it has been out for a while and is going to be released onto DVD soon. The movie theater on base gets movies about a week before they are sold on DVD and shows them for free. It is a good waste of time and it's close enough to our house that we walk there. Seeing as how that might be my last movie for a while I want to go see it. If we don't make it I'll just rent it later.
I think that the king will be here soon. Ivan has a test on Friday and another one of Wednesday, I am almost certain that I will go into labor during one of those tests, instead of over the weekend like I would like. I would like to keep Ivan from missing as much school as possible. With that being said I would like to include a gentle reminder that sleep is a very important commodity at our house, and will be even more so after the king is here. I know that people are getting excited about the baby coming but please, please don't call us after 10:00. Ivan goes to bed a few minutes before and really needs his sleep, also the odds are that I am at least in bed too, and I don't want to keep him awake by talking on the phone.
Ivan is doing really well in school right now, his grades are high enough where he doesn't have mandatory study hours, but he still usually puts in about 4 to 5 hours a day. He is really excited about the baby and has already picked out clothes for him to wear, trust me, you'll know them when you see them.

No comments: